Theater students take the stage for KCACTF awards

 -  -  26

Sarah Beason and Alex Price perform in the Irene Ryan acting competition.
Sarah Beason and Alex Price perform in the Irene Ryan acting competition.
Members of the Bethel College Theatre Department received high honors for their outstanding accomplishments during the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF) awards. The awards began on Monday, Jan. 5 and lasted until Sunday, Jan. 11 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The KCACTF is a national theater program committed to improving the quality of theatre and showcasing student work from various colleges across America. Of the 18,000 college students that entered, 22 were from Bethel College. The KCACTF awards are granted every January or February in order to honor outstanding regional productions. Eight students from Bethel accepted their nomination for Outstanding Performance for the Irene Ryan National Acting Competition. After each nomination, the students prepared two separate scenes and a monologue of their choice.  The students received coaching for their performances by the director of the traveling theater group, Genesians, and adjunct professor of theater, Deb Swerman.  Six additional students presented designs at the KCACTF awards, including sophomore April Reed’s scenic design for “Electra,” senior Tim Becze’s lighting design in “Waiting for Godot” and “39 Steps” and Haram Park’s makeup design for “Electra.” Other competing students included junior Erin Cluckie with stage management for “39 Steps,” senior A.J. Reynolds for dramaturgy with “Electra” and senior Moa Son’s costume designs for the KCACTF regional contest “A Long Day’s Journey into the Night.” Both Reynolds and Becze advanced to the final round in their respective categories. Son took first place with her costume design as part of the Design Storm Team competition in the finals. In addition, six other students were awarded certificates of merit for Outstanding Achievement in productions over the past year. Bethel College Associate Theatre Designer Johan Godwaldt was also selected by KCACTF for the Lighting Design Intensive in recognition of his work. He also received the Faculty Service Award for the state of Indiana.
bookmark icon